Posted on

On Your Bike, You Selfish Cretin

I think I'll stop here. It's as good a place as any.

I think I’ll stop here. It’s as good a place as any.

I don’t want to say Taiwan has a higher proportion of selfish twats than any other country but I seem to see individuals such as the one pictured below with such monotonous regularity that sometimes I have to wonder.

This woman has decided that traffic laws don’t apply to her and that traffic lights are just there for decoration. She Why oh why is it necessary to do this? It’s indicative of the this “must be first” mentality. When it’s old duffers, I can just about give them a pass but this was a youngish woman.

She started by edging through the red light from where I took the picture, then stopped right in the middle of the zebra crossing. When an elderly man and then a woman with two toddlers was were forced to go around her, she finally decided that maybe the middle of the channel that is reserved specifically for pedestrians (not that you would ever know it in Taiwan) wasn’t the best place to plonk herself. She then edged to the other side, a good five metres in front of the lights.

Why oh why do people think this is an acceptable way to behave on the road? What the fuck do they think the lights are there for? What is the limit to how far you can edge forward? Is that headstart soooo important? Am I allowed to punch people off their bikes for this? Can anyone answer these questions for me (ok, I think I know the answer to the last one)?

Leave a Reply

